How to clean a brine tank??

Old 05-19-17, 01:01 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to clean a brine tank??

I have a brine tank that has been without salt for who knows how long. There's about 12-18 inches of water and some gunk in there so it definitely needs to be cleaned out. New home owner & have no clue about water softeners! Manual wasn't helpful... so a few questions!
1 - when do I put the system in regeneration mode? Do I need to turn it to anything else throughout this process?
2 - can I dump the water into the hole in my basement where the sub pump is?
3 - after I clean the brine tank out, do I add a few gallons of water or will the softener do that on its own?
4 - do I let the salt sit in the brine tank and touch nothing on the softener?

I'm just starting to learn about these softeners so if anyone could break it down step by step in lamest terms, it'd be so much appreciated!

Old 05-19-17, 07:57 PM
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
What brand? if the tank is by its self and does not have the softener in it then it is simple.
Disconnect the brine line, salt line from the float assembly so that the salt tank no longer has the 3/8 line attached and then take that tank out side and hose out. Take the tank back in and attach the 3/8 line and put in 5gallons of water to prime the tank and 1 bag of your choice on salt.
You are now finished.

Old 05-20-17, 03:12 AM
R
Thanks! I think it's a 5600 Econominder? The Brine tank sits on its own and I figured it'd be fairly easy to remove to take out to clean. What confuses me though is when do I put the system in regen mode? Right before? Hours before? Right after I add more salt?
And for some reason I can't for the life of me turn the 2 knobs in back to put it into bypass mode...

Old 05-20-17, 03:29 AM
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
Look something like this.

Name:  Capture.jpg
Views: 472
Size:  29.0 KB