Well water has a 4.98 pH need soda ash injection?

Old 01-26-19, 03:22 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Well water has a 4.98 pH need soda ash injection?

I'm buying a house and the well water test came back failed with the only issue being the pH is 4.98,I found soda ash injection to be the best option, I just want to know if about setting up a system like that as it says you need to mix the soda ash into warm purified water does that mean i'd have to buy and heat up gallons of water every time i fill it or could I use the houses acidic water?

p.s. I'm new to well water

Old 01-26-19, 06:31 PM
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
With ph that low one might need both soda ash and calcite/mag ox to correct it.
There are different pumps to get the soda ash in to the water.
Tempered water for mixing in the soda ash as it will warm the water through a chem action ..
I would say find a local dealer that has worked with this and have them set something up to correct the ph.

Is there any iron or Mn in the water?

Also have the water tested for Alk, Ca, NO3 as they will have a part to play the correction of your water.

Old 01-26-19, 06:33 PM
L
Received 10 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Don't know what problems that low Ph would cause except if the house has copper pipes. Do you see any green stains on the porcelain sinks in the house? If so, you could be in for having to re-plumb sooner than would be necessary if the Ph was correct.

I use a Water Boss acid neutralizing machine that takes a combination of corosex and calcite to raise the Ph.

Good luck, others should be along with more detailed knowledge.

Old 01-26-19, 09:04 PM
C