Pump and controller for rainwater collection


  #1  
Old 06-08-16, 07:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pump and controller for rainwater collection

I'm building a small rainwater collection system with 275 gal IBC tote. Collected water will be pumped via garden hose to water garden and fill up pool, about 75-100 feet away.
I'm looking for a suggestion for an inexpensive pump and controller as I don't know much about these...
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-16, 08:26 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,350
Received 87 Upvotes on 69 Posts
Do you need automatic control? As in, tank fills up, pump turns on and empties tank? Or will just turn on the pump manually when needed?

Do you need enough pressure to be able to run a sprinkler from it?

What the difference in elevation between tank and outlet (and up or down)?
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-16, 10:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,688
Received 3,338 Upvotes on 2,997 Posts
My sister does something similar. She uses a basic 1/4hp utility pump. She plugs it in when she waters. Uses a hose with a spray control.

You could install a switch to control it. I couldn't really see how an automatic system could fit in here unless you want something to turn the pump on when full and off when empty. That would be good if you were emptying one tank in to another. Wouldn't be too helpful when watering.

This is the exact pump she uses.... it comes with a standard 3/4" garden hose fitting.
Superior Pump 1/4 HP Submersible Thermoplastic Utility Pump-Home Depot
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-16, 04:40 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah l plan to just use hose with spray control. I'm just worried about what happens when pump is on but I'm not spraying (I.e. Walking around). Pressure will build up in the house... Controller will turn on pump when pressure drops when I squeeze the sprayer trigger...
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-16, 05:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,688
Received 3,338 Upvotes on 2,997 Posts
If you're going to take hours to water then you'll need a pressure control circuit. A pump like I linked to probably won't generate enough pressure to activate a pressure switch.
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-16, 06:03 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ah I see! I guess I dont need controller then. Thanks Pete!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: