Mount pressure switch up high

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-16, 07:42 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mount pressure switch up high

Just a quick question, I'm planning to replace the pressure switch on my
deep well, (5hp, a little over 400') . Is there any reason it needs to be at the base of the pressure tank? I have a maze of pipes in and out of the 2 pressure tanks to accommodate the sand filter and whole house filters, and frankly at my age crawling around on the floor has lost its novelty. I plan to mount it on the intake of the sand filter, as that is chest high, yet still on the pump side of everything.
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-16, 10:07 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,418
Received 746 Votes on 685 Posts
Where you mount it specifically is not important as long as you install it before your filters. I like to mount them so there is a vertical pipe nipple connecting it to the water system. A long nipple is preferred. This helps prevent sediment in the water from reaching the pressure switch though sometimes the pipe nipple can clog or rust shut.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-16, 11:18 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the prompt reply, that resembles what I'm plumbing. there will be another T below it as I'm also including an eye level gauge. For now I will just abandon the old switch, shouldn't hurt anything, maybe in the summer, I'll clean things up. For now getting it running is top priority.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-16, 09:51 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reporting back; What I first tried did not work, as the switch would pulse several times both on cut in and cut out. That was no doubt bad for the controller and pump. I moved it to the other side of the pressure tank just before the filters. While the arm in the switch rocked back and forth a bit at both ends of the range, it no longer pulsed the relay in the controller. I'm thinking at this point that; on an outlying point, out of the stream would be best. I never imagined how turbulent the main pipes are. lesson learned. Let's hope if I can't be an inspiration, I can at least be a lesson.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-16, 03:30 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,258
Received 33 Votes on 32 Posts
Eric-

…While the arm in the switch rocked back and forth a bit at both ends of the range,…
If I understand correctly, that sounds like contact chatter in the pressure switch. I think that can happen if your pressure switch is too far from the tank. I think the recommendation is that the switch should be no more than 6 feet from the tank (I’ll see if I can find references to that). Although in my old setup my switch was about 8 feet upstream from the tank with two 90 degree turns between the switch and tank- and that worked OK.


Well here's one from I guess pros, but I've heard 6 feet most of the time. They say 3-4 feet.
Reasons for Pressure Switch Chatter - Lakeland Water Pump Co.
 

Last edited by zoesdad; 12-30-16 at 03:51 PM.
  #6  
Old 12-30-16, 05:54 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm contented for now, it cuts on and off smoothly, I got my original wish, it is now chest high and easy to service, I put in a new switch so it should be good for a while. I probably will put a longer 1/4" pipe nipple, the one I used was 1 1/2" long, double that should make a bit of a shock absorber.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: