Pump Startup for Water Potability Test

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-18, 12:28 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pump Startup for Water Potability Test

Hi All,

I have a Franklin 2 Wire, 115v, 1/2HP, 10GPM pump in my 80' well. The pump was installed in 2014. It used to service a mobile home that has been demo'd and I'm in the process of building a new on the site.

I need to have a test done on the water and do not have on site electric. I've been running tools etc from my home next door.

Can you advise on how to start the pump up to run few a few minutes to get a sample? Also, the pump has not been run in about six months. Should I let it run for a certain amount of time before taking the sample?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-18, 03:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,742
Received 1,187 Votes on 1,098 Posts
That's a pretty small pump for a house.

You could run it from your neighbors but it will require at least an extension cord with #12 wiring. If it's more than 150' you may need larger cable. I would definitely recommend running it for a little while to flush out the old water before taking a sample.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-18, 03:47 PM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,533
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
How comprehensive is the Water Test going to be ?

And what is the jurisdiction . . . . because potability standards vary from State to State, and Province to Province.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: